FIFA 2018 Football World Cup champions history

FIFA World Cup champions history

FIFA World Cup champions history

World Cup, formally FIFA 2018 World Cup, in football (soccer), quadrennial competition that decides the game’s best on the planet. It is likely the most prominent brandishing occasion on the planet, drawing billions of watchers at home each competition.

The principal rivalry for the glass was sorted out in 1930 by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and was won by Uruguay. Held like clockwork since that time, aside from amid World War II, the opposition comprises of global sectional competitions prompting a last end occasion made up of 32 national groups. Not at all like Olympic football, World Cup groups are not restricted to players of a particular age or novice status, so the opposition serves all the more almost as a challenge between the world’s best players. Arbitrators are chosen from records that are presented by all the national affiliations.

The trophy glass granted from 1930 to 1970 was the Jules Rimet Trophy, named for the Frenchman who proposed the competition. This glass was for all time granted in 1970 to then three-time champ Brazil (1958, 1962, and 1970), and another trophy called the FIFA World Cup was set up for rivalry. Numerous different games have sorted out “World Cup” rivalries.

FIFA World Cup champions history

For a list of World Cup champions prior FIFA 2018, see table.

FIFA World Cup—men
year result
*Won after extra time (AET).
**Won on penalty kicks.
1930 Uruguay 4 Argentina 2
1934 Italy* 2 Czechoslovakia 1
1938 Italy 4 Hungary 2
1950 Uruguay 2 Brazil 1
1954 West Germany 3 Hungary 2
1958 Brazil 5 Sweden 2
1962 Brazil 3 Czechoslovakia 1
1966 England* 4 West Germany 2
1970 Brazil 4 Italy 1
1974 West Germany 2 Netherlands 1
1978 Argentina* 3 Netherlands 1
1982 Italy 3 West Germany 1
1986 Argentina 3 West Germany 2
1990 West Germany 1 Argentina 0
1994 Brazil** 0 Italy 0
1998 France 3 Brazil 0
2002 Brazil 2 Germany 0
2006 Italy** 1 France 1
2010 Spain* 1 Netherlands 0
2014 Germany* 1 Argentina 0

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.